Blog

Sunday Pep Talk #10: Attitude

This morning I woke up and I didn’t really feel like myself. I felt lethargic, unmotivated and pessimistic. That’s not really me. Some days that’s how I feel but it’s not who I am. Who I really am is optimistic, aspirational and pretty positive.

Now, that’s my self-assessment and IΒ may well be wrong, but that’s who I think I’ve grown into. There have been times in my life when I’ve been like I was this morning for days, weeks and months at a time. There have been times when I thought I’d never feel optimistic or motivated ever again, but fortunately, those times passed.

So, this morning when I was in my funk, I didn’t eat breakfast, I stayed in my PJs, I sat around wasting time and then I decided to eat a big old plate full of mashed potato for lunch (I know that sounds really weird but some days mashed potato is the ultimate comfort food, trust me). But all that got me was further in the funk! Now I was sitting around wasting time while far too full of potato. Ugh!

So instead of wallowing in my carby coma, I decided to get it together. I took a proper long shower, got dressed, did my hair and makeup and went for a walk around the block. It doesn’t sound like much but it definitely dragged me out of my funk.

f295e7601de02e17a65b28224c2b7a78

I’m not saying this is a fix all and if you’re struggling with depression or anxiety I’m not saying you can just ‘get it together’. But, if you’re just in a funk and not quite feeling like yourself for some reason (and you don’t feel like that very often), a bit of a spruce is surprisingly therapeutic.

I think on days like that, your attitude really can change everything. You can wallow in your lethargy and waste the day, or you can change your attitude, pull yourself up by your bootstraps and get back to life.

I don’t think it’s appropriate for me to tell you how to manage your own mental health, and sometimes you need a day to wallow in it. If you don’t want to spend your day that way though, try to give yourself a helping hand. Whether that’s as simple as going for a walk around the block or more long term, like opening up and asking for help if it’s all a bit too much.

Believing you have the ability to change the way you feel is half the battle. If you can acknowledge how you’re feeling isn’t right and believe you can change it, then you can make positive steps in the right direction.

Image Source: SkinB5

twitter32insta32facebook32pinterest32linkedin32

Leave a Reply

