Blog

Sunday Pep Talk #9: Self-esteem

For as long as I can remember I have been very aware of every one of my flaws, particularly my physical ones. Now, I know that’s not surprising, it seems like everyone is insecure about the way they look in one way or another. I could go on about self-esteem for days, but for now, I want to focus on how these ‘flaws’ can hold you back in monumental ways.

I have put off doing so many things because of the way I look. I have thought to myself ‘I’ll do that once I’ve lost some weight’ more times than I could count. For example, I would have started writing my blog years ago if it wasn’t for this way of thinking, and it’s frustrating to think of how different things may have been. There are a lot of other things I’ve avoided because of the way I look and my overall self-esteem, and there’s a lot of fun things I’ve missed out on because of it.

60a861cf2ab6d2c9a1a1f462ef4561f5

What’s the point of that?! You know what didn’t happen from that way of thinking? It didn’t make me lose weight, it didn’t make me happier and it didn’t make me more successful. All that way of thinking did is to hold me back.

So, I am making a concerted effort to do what I actually want to do. I am working towards the future/job/life I want and I am cultivating hobbies I enjoy. That involves putting myself out there and risking rejection and failure. I’m risking feeling all those feelings I’ve been so scared of, and it’s exhilarating.

Any time I’ve felt scared about trying something new or difficult I’ve just done it anyway. I’ve promoted myself and what I want, I’ve pushed myself further and further and I have had achievements I can be proud of.

I have a long way to go in terms of my self-esteem and a lot of growing to do, but slowly I am starting to actually value myself and my abilities. I am starting to see the things I can do without the caveat of ‘once I lose weight’.

This week, try to see the value in who you are rather than what you are not. See yourself as more than your insecurities, as the well-rounded complex individual you are. Once you recognise that just a bit, it’s amazing where that can lead and the things you can do.

Image Source: Lifehack Quotes

twitter32insta32facebook32pinterest32linkedin32

Leave a Reply

