Blog

Sunday Pep Talk #5: Making the most of it

So last week was crazy, it went by in a blur of books and writing and studying. I was so focussed on the work I had to do and the deadline that I hardly remember most of it. This week, on the other hand, hasn’t been quite so fast-paced.

I don’t know if it’s because last week was so busy or if it’s something else, but this week has passed almost without my noticing and I don’t have all that much to show for it. I have gotten some things done, but not as much as the week before. Fortunately, suddenly realising that today has given me a real kick up the bum!

0b30b4d33fadb7da76f15fc1338c7e57

We all know time is precious and we don’t know how much we have, but it’s easy to allow that to slip to the back of your mind day-to-day. But today I suddenly feel so motivated, I feel like I’ve wasted time scrolling through Instagram when I could have spent it working on something real.

I think most people need goals and achievements to feel satisfied, they don’t have to be huge but having something to check off a list or feel proud of is important. Making the most of however much spare time you have to work towards something like that is important, too. I don’t mean you should let work take over your life, but I do mean maybe you should try to avoid letting things like social media take over too.

So, today I feel inspired to make the most of the hours I have in the day, not just for work stuff or school stuff, but for art and exercise and reading too. I want to feel productive again and be proud of how I chose to spend my time. Scrolling through Instagram or Facebook does nothing for anyone, but it’s amazing how fast hours can go by doing that.

So this week, take a minute to think about what you enjoy and make some time for that. Whether it’s reading a couple of pages of a good book before bed, doodling for a while or just going for a little walk. Do something that makes you feel like you’re spending your time wisely, and making the most of the life you’ve been dealt.

Who knows, once you’re on that productive streak you might just tick a few other things off your list too!

Image source: thefunnybeaver.com

twitter32insta32facebook32pinterest32linkedin32

Leave a Reply

