Sunday Pep Talk #4: Going for it

So this week I have so much work to do, that is a tad bit overwhelming. On the other hand if I’m totally honest, it’s nothing I haven’t actually done before, so why does that little anxious part of me want to tie myself up in knots?

The worst thing about anxiety in a way is how irrational it is, you spend all this time and energy worrying about things that either won’t ever happen, or if they do, won’t be the end of the world. But its irrationality is also it’s Achilles heel.

dfd0cdc6fb0085507257853d8750c48e

For me, once I realised how irrational my anxiety was in the vast majority of circumstances, it became that bit easier to manage. It’s important to not dismiss you anxiety, to recognise it and understand it, but it’s also important to limit its influence on you.

When you decide to go for it, to reach for whatever dream you have, apply yourself to whatever you’re working on or believe in your abilities, it can feel a lot like stepping off a ledge. There’s always the chance things won’t go to plan so why bother at all? Why not give in to that anxious feeling and hide yourself away from the world? Because that’s the way you sabotage your own happiness and allow fear to dictate your future (de ja vu?).

So have courage, be the girl (or guy) who decided to go for it. Apply yourself to that stack of work and just do your best, you don’t need to be perfect, you don’t even have to be successful. But be the type of person who gives life their all, who grabs it by the lapels and just goes for it.

I have the utmost admiration for people like that, and I aspire to be that way too. I have failed before, and I will fail again. But each of those failures was so worth it and none of them killed me. The only way you truly fail is if you never try and you never know.

Image source: Tone it up

twitter32insta32facebook32pinterest32linkedin32


Leave a Reply

